Film Review: Cinematic Titanic - Frankenstein's Castle of Freaks
Film Review: Donkey Punch

The 2008 Online Film Critics Society Awards


Like the timeless, heartwarming, Oscar-winning song once said, “It’s hard out here for a pimp.” Especially a pimp who didn’t embrace “Wall-E” Lennie-style like the rest of the free world.

I swear to Christ this will be the last mention of “Wall-E” on this site and hopefully in my personal life as well. While all the nonsense from last summer was put to bed long ago, a new wrinkle has formed with the Online Film Critics Society, who issued their 2008 awards, branding “Wall-E” the best film of the year.

I should mention at this blindingly triumphant point that I’m a member of the OFCS and one of two brave individuals on the roster to hand the film a negative review. One of two, out of 59 posted in total.

Obviously, I hold mixed feelings about the choice, but I hold the same vague discontent every year when it comes to my faceless online brethren. For such a cantankerous bunch of writers, this choice reveals an uncharacteristic soft side, abandoning any sense of danger to reward an exhaustively lauded motion picture.

Ah, well. At least the whole nightmare is now over.

Here’s the official rundown:

WALL•E Named Best Picture in Online Film Critics Society Awards

January 19, 2009 – The animated film “WALL•E” was named Best Picture in the 12th annual Online Film Critics Society Awards. The production also won awards for Andrew Stanton and Jim Reardon’s original screenplay and for Best Animated Film.

Two other films, however, won more awards. “The Dark Knight” won four awards: Christopher Nolan’s direction, Heath Ledger’s supporting actor performance, cinematography and original score. The Swedish film “Let the Right One In” also won four awards: Best Foreign-Language Film, John Ajvide Lindqvist’s adapted screenplay, and newcomer awards for actress Lina Leandersson and filmmaker Tomas Alfredson.

The complete winners list for the OFCS Awards are as follows:

DIRECTOR: Christopher Nolan (-) The Dark Knight
ACTOR: Mickey Rourke (-) The Wrestler
ACTRESS: Michelle Williams (-) Wendy and Lucy
SUPPORTING ACTOR: Heath Ledger (-) The Dark Knight
SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Marisa Tomei (-) The Wrestler
ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: WALL•E (-) Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon
ADAPTED SCREENPLAY: Let the Right One In (-) John Ajvide Lindqvist
FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: Let the Right One In (Sweden)
CINEMATOGRAPHY: The Dark Knight (-) Wally Pfister
ORIGINAL SCORE: The Dark Knight (-) James Newton Howard & Hans Zimmer
EDITING: Slumdog Millionaire (-) Chris Dickens
BREAKTHROUGH PERFORMANCE: Lina Leandersson (-) Let the Right One In
BREAKTHROUGH FILMMAKER: Tomas Alfredson (-) Let the Right One In
Founded in 1997, the Online Film Critics Society has been the key force in establishing and raising the standards for Internet-based film journalism. The OFCS membership spans the U.S., Canada, Europe, Latin America, Africa, and the Asia/Pacific Rim region. The Society's web site, which has been hosted since January 2001 by the highly influential film resource Rotten Tomatoes (, provides the most comprehensive online listing of reviews and original interviews with the leading artists in today's cinema, plus links to the most important motion picture-related web sites.

For more information, visit the Online Film Critics Society at


Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Your Information

(Name is required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)